Hanshin Tigers win the Japan Series!

Although I wrote of my mixed feelings about the Hanshin Tigers potentially winning the Japan Series for the first time since 1985 in a previous post, when it came down to it, I really wanted them to win. Going into the last two games, Hanshin needed just one more win, but both games were at the Buffaloes’ stadium. Tigers lost the first one, meaning the Japan Series would go down to a final deciding game.

I managed to watch much of the final game and watched with a degree of disbelief at what I saw. But I enjoyed every minute of it – especially as my favourite player, Shota Morishita, got a couple of the runs. By the time the final Buffaloes innings came around with Hanshin leading 7-0, even I had to believe that the Series win was about to happen. Even when Buffaloes hit a consolation home run, I wasn’t worried. Well perhaps a little. And then they got another hit before a final long ball which for a moment looked as though it would carry for a home run, but in the end dropped nicely for the final out to confirm the Tigers as the champions!

Here are some links to other stories about the win and why it means so much:

[UPDATE]: Here’s a video posted by the English language Hanshin Tigers podcast. The host went to the public viewing of the game at Koshien and recorded the fans who were watching the game on the video broadcast there. That in itself is quite amazing. But if you really want to see something incredible, just skip to about 3:40, read the text that appears, and then just watch/listen to what happens. #I’mNotCryingYou’reCrying.

I hope we won’t have to wait another 38 for the next series win.

Here are some of my other Hanshin Tigers related posts:

Click here for a list of my other posts relating to Hanshin Tigers